January 5, 2021

Knowle Hospital in the early 1970s…

Posted in Uncategorized at 3:50 pm by Aleksan

Hilary Hickmore As a Psychiatrist in training I worked at Knowle Hospital in the early 70s, and Penny and I lived in the grounds. It was formerly known as the Hampshire County Asylum. Before my time it was run on quasi military lines – the Superintendent and entourage visited each ward regularly, where they were saluted by the Charge Nurses, and saluted back. When I was there inmates lived in their wards, run by kind Sisters and Charge Nurses, and were encouraged to work in the gardens, very lovely, go on outings and do Occupational Therapy. There were concerts and other events but essentially we were self contained and self sufficient – fresh food every day, and one man worked in our garden for which he was paid. I loved it there and felt much part of a Therapeutic Community – it was said that you could not tell the Psychiatrists for the Patients!

Leave a comment