June 18, 2017

When the capitalist rot set in – NHS Health Care Trusts

Posted in Uncategorized at 7:56 am by aleksan

Capitalism at its worst.  I can remember when I first noticed the rot set in.  In the  80s our Family Consultacy Service became part of a local Health Care Trust.  The Finance Director came to see me, the Consultant Psychiatrist, and said I had to see twice as many patients per session as there was now a market.  The reason?  So I could be more efficient and save the Trust money.  I refused – and told him that my job was to do the best for my patients and offer the best Service available to children and teenagers.  His eyebrows furrowed and he looked perplexed.  And he said again “But you can’t do that – it’s not efficient – we have to make money.”  So much for health, care, trust and service…..

Leave a Reply

